Skip to content

Reading List; Learning HTML; and “The Jesus Way”

10 April 2009

OK, so qb’s way behind the curve, just now learning HTML.  But we do have indoor plumbing at our house, so that’s a plus.
—–

In any event, today qb debuts a reading list widget and invites your comments or suggested titles. I hope to write some reviews as I finish the titles in the sidebar, but it’ll be a while; N. T. Wright has my full attention right now, and it’s a pretty big volume, just like Vol. 1 was.
—–

Finally, Renovare is hosting a conference this June in San Antonio called “The Jesus Way” that will feature Eugene Peterson, Dallas Willard, John Ortberg, Richard Foster, Chris Webb, Max Lucado, and many others. qb’s headed down there on Sunday and can’t wait. I’m not sure how many more opportunities we’ll have to hear Peterson and Willard together on the same program, but I’m not going to let this chance go by.

qb

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dan Smith permalink
    11 April 2009 11:39 am

    qb,
    I continue to pray for you well being.

    Here are three of my recent reads that you might find useful:

    Jesus Through Middle Eastern Eyes: Cultural Studies in the Gospels
    Kenneth E. Bailey
    IVP Academic, 2008

    From Symposium to Eucharist: The Banquet in the early Christian world.
    Dennis E. Smith
    Fortress Press, 2003

    The Language of God: A Scientist presents Evidence for Belief
    Francis S. Collins
    Free Press, 2006

    Good reading!

  2. 12 April 2009 11:30 am

    Thanks, Dan, I’ll check ’em out. The Bailey book looks as though it would complement my current reading in Wright; and I’ve got a new book on the evolution of the synagogue that would dovetail with the Smith book. Appreciate you stopping by. qb

  3. 13 April 2009 9:54 am

    qb,

    I’m deep into Bauckham’s “Jesus and the Eyewitnesses.” You might want to check it out. I might be able to check out Renovare myself. If not, eat at El Mirador on South St. Mary’s. Family-owned and operated. Mommacita still does the cooking. Excellent green chili chiken enchiladas. Good brew too!

    Blessings!

  4. 13 April 2009 10:35 am

    Coop, nice shots. Putting El Mirador on the itinerary. Bauckham is an enigma to me, but an untested one…so I think I’ll take you up on it! qb

Leave a Reply

