Skip to content

Music for What Ails Ya

6 November 2008

qb took the morning off for a dentist’s appt., then to help Jenn set up her booth at the Christmas Roundup.  Some good road time on I-40, in other words.  Last evening, Samuel had let me use his iTunes account to nab a few songs to keep me company in my car today before the EIB comes on at 11.

I chose a couple of old standards, but one in particular really drew me in:  Blackfoot’s “Highway Song.”  For some reason, I gravitate to the loneliness.  That, and the three-chord blues.

—–

I sat down to our iMac last night to download a few, and Samuel stood right behind me.  When I chose Skynyrd’s “Simple Man,” he said, “oh, I know that one.  That’s a great song.”  Let’s see, what was the proverb?  “Train up a child in the way he should go…”

Mama told me when I was young/Sit beside me, my only son/And listen closely to what I say/If you do this, it’ll help you some sunny day

Oh, take your time… Don’t live too fast/Troubles will come and they will pass/Go find a woman, and you’ll find love/And don’t forget son, there is someone up above

[…]

Forget your lust for the rich man’s gold/All that you need is in your soul/And you can do this if you try/All that I want for you, my son, is to be satisfied

[…]

And be a simple kind of man/Be something you’ll love and understand/Be a simple kind of man/Oh won’t you do this for me son, if you can

Rush, Tull, and Yes will always be at the top of my list for personal consumption.  But Ronnie Van Zant knew how to put the cookies on the bottom shelf.  “Simple Man” — now that’s the kind of music Jesus might just sit down and enjoy with me.  Boys, listen up.

qb

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

