Skip to content

Brad Delp, R.I.P.

16 March 2007

As a naive 11-year-old, I flew from my home in Albuquerque to McAllen, TX, to stay with my dear grandmother, my uncle and my aunt, and play a couple of tennis tournaments. Grandma took me to the mall one day, and I splurged, putting down about 7 slaps for the recently released, eponymous album called “Boston.” I had heard that the lead guitarist was an MIT-educated brainiac who had designed and built his own 24-track recording equipment, and that was impressive enough, but all I knew as a preadolescent was that those guys knew how to rock, and that vocalist…

…wow, did he have a great set of pipes and a beautiful rock timbre.

I guess other rockers had more musical influence on the scene, but I never felt their loss quite this much. Maybe I’m just older. Maybe I’ve had similar pangs of despair now, and this is a bitter reminder. Or maybe it’s just because this guy was such a stand-up, classy, kind fellow, and it seems like such a waste. Maybe it’s all of that. But this really hurts.

Jehovah God, would you look down on Brad Delp with mercy? And on his family, friends and bandmates?

qb

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

